About Us


The 2016-2017 SCRW awards book is now available. To get your copy send $12.50  to above address. 

Chafing Dish Logo 001                                                                        2016-2017 Special Award Winners

Restaurateur of the Year-Cynthia Peck, Angelo and VInci’s Ristorante

Owner/Entrepreneur of the Year-The Perez Family, Luna’s Modern Mexican Kitchen

Humanitarian of the Year-Catarina’s Club (serving the Kids in America)

Chef of the Year-Bert Agor Jr., Tustin Ranch Golf Club

Manager of the Year-Sandra Schwaiger, Jagerhaus German Restaurant

Server of the Year-Roberto Baccera,  El Coyote Restaurant

Sommelier of the Year-Scott Fisher, L’Opera Ristorante

Sous Chef-Onesimo “David Lorenzo”, Anaheim White House

Southern California Restaurant Writers, Inc. was formed in 1975 to improve the quality of the restaurant industry in the region. To further this objective, the organization bestows awards upon restaurants and individuals whose standards of quality and service deserve special recognition. These awards are presented at an annual ceremony and published for the general public.

The award winners are chosen from among restaurants stretching from Santa Barbara to the Mexican border. They were evaluated by our members throughout 2016.  All were judged on food, service, ambiance and appropriate beverages according to the organization’s standarized scoring sheets which have a scoring range from 1 to 100 points. 

Southern California Restaurant Writers Inc. established a fund for scholarships to further the education of worthy individuals in the fields of restaurant service, the culinary arts and enology. Over $150,000 has been awarded. 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *